Breakout rooms are a flagship feature of Virtual Event that allow the host to split users into different rooms. With the help of breakout rooms, you can facilitate group work and discussion during lessons, trainings or meetings. Each
room has its own presenter, and the host of the webinar can move freely within the rooms to check in on progress. Groups are selected by the host, or a presenter who was selected for the role before the webinar started and joined
the webinar via a special (presenter) link. Attendees can be assigned into rooms by hand or randomly thanks to the “Randomize” button. The host of the webinar can move freely around the breakout rooms and moderate the discussions
or group work going on. Attendees assigned to a specific room cannot switch rooms without the host’s help.
Breakout rooms are a great feature for creating interaction and engagement between attendees. Our users make use of the breakout room function when (for example) a given idea or project need to be discussed amongst several groups at
the same time.
Here are a few more examples of use cases for this function:
How do I get the breakout rooms feature?
Breakout rooms are available as part of the CUSTOM package. You can have 5, 10, 15, or 20 breakout rooms as part of your package.
Do breakout rooms use up concurrent sessions?
No,
they do not. Each event planned in the dashboard corresponds with one session carried out, breakout rooms are part of the event, not an event within themselves.
Who can move between rooms?
The host chooses
a presenter for each breakout room, but they are only a presenter within the room they were assigned to. A presenter who is invited to be a presenter before the session starts (via an invitation from the host) can move freely between
rooms like the host.
How many breakout rooms can I have at once?
During each session you can lead one session of breakout rooms, but you can have multiple rooms going simultaneously. Remember that
you can always elect to enable additional meeting rooms.
How do I assign participants to the room?
The host is in charge of assigning participants to the rooms, however the participants can also be randomly
be placed in rooms with the help of the “Randomize” button.
Can breakout rooms be recorded?
Yes, within the room, the presenter simply needs to click the “REC” button to begin recording. The recording
will be stored on the host’s account in the “Recordings” section of their storage. If the host chooses to run four breakout rooms and record each room, they will find four recordings in their “Recordings” tab in their storage.
What is the largest concurrent audience which can use breakout rooms?
The
only limit here would be number of session participants allowed by your selected room.
Can I change the layout of the breakout room?
Yes, you can change the layout before the session or during it, into
a room layout or hangouts type layout. You can also change the layout of the breakout room itself.
Here is the breakout room window. It is made up of the following elements:
How to use break-out rooms
1. Search - you can look for attendees by name.
2. List of attendees - here is the list of all the participants of your event.
3. Left pointing arrow - this arrow moves
the participant back in the main attendee list.
4. Right pointing arrow - this arrow moves the participant to the breakout room of your choice.
5. List of breakout rooms – a list
of all the rooms available for participants.
6. Scroll button – allows you to scroll down (or up) to the other rooms.
7. Randomize – you can assign your attendees into rooms randomly
8. Start – clicking it you will start the breakout room session
Adding Attendees to Breakout Rooms
1. Mark the name of the participant to add them to the breakout room
2. Next, click on the right pointing arrow to add an attendee to the room. You can also add participants to the room by dragging and dropping their
names into the selected room.
3. If you’d like to assign your attendees to rooms at random, click “Randomize”.
4. Once all of your attendees are in their selective rooms, click “Start” to begin the session.
In
the case that a user joins the webinar during an active session of breakout rooms, as the host, you can still assign them to the room with the help of the “Manage” button (as seen on the following screenshot). This function
will take you back to the breakout room window and you can manually assign the new attendee to a room.
Starting a session in Breakout Rooms
Once you click on “Start” button, a menu will appear on the left side of your room. You can choose from the rooms which you created as shown on the screenshot below.
1. List of active breakout rooms.
2. List of attendees
who are in the selected breakout rooms.
3. “Manage” button – after clicking you will be redirected to the breakout room window.
4. “Close” button – clicking this will end the session of breakout rooms.
Manual How to change the name of a room?
Our
app allows you to change the name of the breakout room if need be. To do so, hover the mouse pointer over the room who’s name you’d like to change, and click on the cog icon that appears. Edit the name in the field that
appears, and once you’re done, simply click the checkmark.